Kowloon, Hong Kong » City Info » Geography

Kowloon is an urban area in Hong Kong made up of the Kowloon Peninsula and New Kowloon. It is located north of Hong Kong Island and south of the mainland part of the New Territories. It is surrounded by the Lei Yue Mun strait in the east, Mei Foo Sun Chuen and Stonecutter's Island in the west, Tate's Cairn and Lion Rock in the north, and Victoria Harbour in the south. Kowloon land extends north from the waterfront, far as Mongkok Boundary Street, and covers approximately 12km².

The Kowloon Peninsula is an area that forms the southern part of Hong Kong, alongside Victoria Harbour. New Kowloon covers Kwun Tong District and Wong Tai Sin District and part of the Sham Shui Po District and Kowloon City District. New Kowloon is bounded in the north by Beacon Hill, Lion Rock, Tate's Cairn and Kowloon Peak, and in the south by Boundary Street.

Over the past 150 years, the area of the city has become four times bigger than its original one. It is almost 47km² or over 4% of the total landmass. This land reclamation and encroachment of the new territories is now known as New Kowloon.

Geographical Coordinates: 22°19′N 114°11′E

Over the past century, Kowloon bay also has undergone massive reclamation. San Po Kong was reclaimed from the bay in the early days, and today it is far from the coast. The eastern part is now covered with the sea by a breakwater and forms a typhoon shelter, i.e. Kowloon rock. Because of land reclamation, the Channel rock is connected to Kai Tak International Airport runway, and To Kwa Wan is connected to the Hoi Sham Island.

The main rock type of the peninsula consists of a medium-grained monzogranite with some fine granite outcrops.